2006 Alabama Code - Section 6-5-380 — Liability of parents for destruction of property by minor; exception.
(a) The parent or parents, guardian, or other person having care or control of any minor under the age of 18 years with whom the minor is living and who have custody of the minor shall be liable for the actual damages sustained, but not exceeding the sum of $1,000, plus the court costs of the action, to any person, firm, association, corporation and the State of Alabama and its political subdivision for all damages proximately caused by the injury to, or destruction of, any property, real, personal or mixed, by the intentional, willful, or malicious act or acts of the minor. Except, approved foster parents of the Department of Human Resources shall not be liable for damages caused by foster children.
(b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the liability of any such parent or parents as the same may now otherwise exist under the laws of the State of Alabama.
(Acts 1965, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 99, p. 132; Acts 1994, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 94-819, p. 137, §1.)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alabama may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.