Edwards et al v. National Milk Producers Federation et al, No. 3:2011cv04766 - Document 209 (N.D. Cal. 2013)

Court Description: Amended Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Stipulation re Deadlines. Signed by Judge Jeffrey S. White on 11/19/2013. (jswlc1, COURT STAFF) (Filed on 11/25/2013)
Download PDF
Edwards et al v. National Milk Producers Federation et al Doc. 209 Case3:11-cv-04766-JSW Document204 Filed11/19/13 Page1 of 7 1 7 Paula L. Blizzard (# 207920) Jan Nielsen Little (# 100029) Shilpi Agarwal (# 270749) KEKER & VAN NEST LLP 633 Battery Street San Francisco, CA 94111 Telephone: (415) 773-6608 Facsimile: (415) 397-7188 pblizzard@kvn.com jlittle@kvn.com sagarwal@kvn.com 8 Counsel for Defendant Agri-Mark, Inc. 2 3 4 5 6 9 10 [Additional Counsel Listed on Signature Page] 11 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 12 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA 13 SAN FRANCISCO DIVISION 14 15 16 MATTHEW EDWARDS, et al., individually and on behalf of all others similarly situated, Plaintiffs, 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 v. Case No. 3:11-CV-04766-JSW (NJV) [consolidated with 11-CV-04791-JSW and 11-CV-05253-JSW] CLASS ACTION NATIONAL MILK PRODUCERS FEDERATION, aka COOPERATIVES WORKING TOGETHER; DAIRY FARMERS OF AMERICA, INC.; LAND O’LAKES, INC.; DAIRYLEA COOPERATIVE INC.; and AGRIMARK, INC., JOINT STIPULATION TO EXTEND TWO DEADLINES IN THE CASE MANAGEMENT ORDER AND AMENDED ORDER Before: Hon. Jeffrey S. White Defendants. 24 25 26 27 28 Dockets.Justia.com Case3:11-cv-04766-JSW Document204 Filed11/19/13 Page2 of 7 Because of circumstances associated with the Declaration and workpapers of the expert on 1 2 whom Plaintiffs are relying to support their motion for class certification, the parties submit this joint 3 stipulation asking the Court to modify the existing deadline for service of Defendants’ expert report 4 and opposition brief and the deadline for Plaintiffs’ reply brief. This is the first request for an 5 6 extension to the class certification schedule sought at Defendants’ behest, and the modification of these two dates will not affect the January 17, 2014 date set in the Court’s September 9, 2013 Order 7 8 for the hearing on class certification. The circumstances include the following: 1) 9 Pursuant to the Court’s schedule, Plaintiffs filed a Motion for Class Certification on 10 October 28, 2013, together with a supporting declaration of their expert, Dr. John M. Connor. In his 11 Declaration, Dr. Connor set forth opinions that, inter alia, purport to demonstrate that the economic 12 impact and damages caused by the alleged conduct can be established with common proof. Plaintiffs 13 cite and rely upon Dr. Connor’s Declaration in their Motion. 14 2) Shortly after receiving Dr. Connor’s report, Defendants requested that Plaintiffs 15 16 produce his complete back-up materials and workpapers necessary to replicate his analyses. 17 Plaintiffs agreed to produce these materials, but, in part because of the sickness and recent death of 18 Dr. Connor’s brother, Plaintiffs required more time than was initially expected. Plaintiffs produced 19 Dr. Connor’s work papers in rolling productions on October 28th, 31st, and November 4th, 6th and 20 13th. 21 Defendants’ expert(s) required complete back-up materials and work papers in order to replicate and test Dr. Connor’s calculations, and they could not complete that work until all of the 22 workpapers were produced. 23 24 3) In the process of providing these back-up materials, Plaintiffs also provided 25 Defendants with two revised versions of Dr. Connor’s Declaration, the second of which was served 26 on November 13, 2013. 27 28 2 JOINT STIPULATION TO EXTEND TWO DEADLINES IN THE CASE MANAGEMENT ORDER CASE NO. 3:11-CV-04766-JSW Case3:11-cv-04766-JSW Document204 Filed11/19/13 Page3 of 7 1 4) Defendants deposed Dr. Connor on November 14, 2013. During that deposition, Dr. 2 Connor identified additional matters that needed correction. Plaintiffs have agreed to serve a third 3 revised Declaration on or before 5:00 p.m., PST on November 19, 2013. 4 5 6 5) Although the parties differ about the significance of the delayed productions and changes in the revised Declarations, they agree that Defendants should have additional time in which to prepare Defendants’ expert report(s) and their Response to Plaintiffs’ Motion for Class 7 8 9 Certification. 6) To avoid motion practice, the parties jointly stipulate and request that the class 10 certification deadlines be modified to permit the filing of Defendants’ Response to Class 11 Certification and service of any expert report(s) on December 6, 2013, and the filing of Plaintiffs’ 12 Reply to Defendants’ Response on December 20, 2013. 13 7) The parties further stipulate that Plaintiffs be permitted to file any motion to strike 14 Defendants’ expert report(s) 28 days prior to the January 17, 2014, hearing date, or by December 20, 15 16 17 18 19 20 2013, instead of the 35 days prior required by local rule. 8) These proposed deadlines are intended to not require any change to the class certification hearing currently scheduled for January 17, 2013. 9) The parties so stipulate, and respectfully request that the Court enter the order below, approving this stipulation. 21 22 Respectfully submitted: 23 24 25 26 27 28 DATED: November 19, 2013 HAGENS BERMAN SOBOL SHAPIRO LLP By: /s/ Elaine T. Byszewski Elaine T. Byszewski 301 North Lake Avenue, Suite 203 3 JOINT STIPULATION TO EXTEND TWO DEADLINES IN THE CASE MANAGEMENT ORDER CASE NO. 3:11-CV-04766-JSW Case3:11-cv-04766-JSW Document204 Filed11/19/13 Page4 of 7 1 2 3 Pasadena, California 91101 Telephone: (213) 330-7150 Facsimile: (213) 330-7152 Email: elaine@hbsslaw.com 8 Steve W. Berman George W. Sampson Craig R. Spiegel HAGENS BERMAN SOBOL SHAPIRO LLP 1918 8TH Avenue, Suite 3300 Seattle, WA 98101 Telephone: (206) 623-7292 Facsimile: (206) 623-0594 Email: steve@hbsslaw.com Email: george@hbsslaw.com Email: craigs@hbsslaw.com 9 Counsel for Plaintiffs 4 5 6 7 10 WILLIAMS & CONNOLLY LLP 11 By: /s/ Steven R. Kuney Steven R. Kuney (admitted pro hac vice) Kevin Hardy (admitted pro hac vice) Carl R. Metz (admitted pro hac vice) WILLIAMS & CONNOLLY LLP 725 Twelfth Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20005 Telephone: (202) 434-5000 Facsimile: (202) 434-5029 Email: skuney@wc.com Email: cmetz@wc.com Email: khardy@wc.com 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 W. Todd Miller (admitted pro hac vice) BAKER & MILLER PLLC 2401 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 300 Washington, D.C. 20037 Telephone: (202) 663-7820 Facsimile: (202) 663-7849 Email: tmiller@bakerandmiller.com Jesse W. Markham ATTORNEY AT LAW 2130 Fulton Street San Francisco, CA 94117 Telephone: (415) 422-4473 Facsimile: (415) 422-6433 Email: markham@usfca.edu Attorneys for Defendant Dairy Farmers of 4 JOINT STIPULATION TO EXTEND TWO DEADLINES IN THE CASE MANAGEMENT ORDER CASE NO. 3:11-CV-04766-JSW Case3:11-cv-04766-JSW Document204 Filed11/19/13 Page5 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 America, Inc. EIMER STAHL LLP By: /s/ Nathan P. Eimer Nathan P. Eimer (admitted pro hac vice) Scott C. Solberg (admitted pro hac vice) Daniel D. Birk (admitted pro hac vice) Sarah E. Malkerson (admitted pro hac vice) EIMER STAHL LLP 224 S. Michigan Avenue, Suite 1100 Chicago, IL 60604 Telephone: (312) 660-7600 Facsimile: (312) 692-1718 Email:neimer@eimerstahl.com Email: ssolberg@eimerstahl.com Email: dbirk@eimerstahl.com Email: smalkerson@eimerstahl.com 10 11 12 13 14 George A. Nicoud, III Matthew S. Kahn GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER LLP 555 Mission Street, Suite 3000 San Francisco, CA 94105 Telephone: (415) 393-8308 Facsimile: (415) 374-8483 Email: tnicoud@gibsondunn.com Email: mkahn@gibsondunn.com 15 Attorneys for Defendant Land O’ Lakes, Inc. 16 BOND SCHOENECK & KING, PLLC 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 By: /s/ Edward R. Conan Edward R. Conan (admitted pro hac vice) Suzanne O. Galbato (admitted pro hac vice) Clifford G. Tsan (admitted pro hac vice) Lucy S. Clippinger (admitted pro hac vice) BOND SCHOENECK & KING, PLLC One Lincoln Center Syracuse, NY 13202-1355 Telephone: (315) 218-8000 Facsimile: (315) 218-8100 Email: econan@bsk.com Email: sgalbato@bsk.com Email: ctsan@bsk.com Email: lsclippinger@bsk.com William S. Farmer Jacob P. Alpren FARMER BROWNSTEIN JAEGER LLP 5 JOINT STIPULATION TO EXTEND TWO DEADLINES IN THE CASE MANAGEMENT ORDER CASE NO. 3:11-CV-04766-JSW Case3:11-cv-04766-JSW Document204 Filed11/19/13 Page6 of 7 3 235 Pine Street, Suite 1300 San Francisco, CA 94014 Telephone: (415) 962-2875 Facsimile: (415) 520-5678 Email: wfarmer@fbj-law.com Email: jalpren@fbj-law.com 4 Attorneys for Defendant Dairylea Cooperative Inc. 5 SHIPMAN & GOODWIN LLP 1 2 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 By: /s/ Jill M. O’Toole Jill M. O’Toole (admitted pro hac vice) Susan S. Murphy (admitted pro hac vice) Eric S. Goldstein (admitted pro hac vice) One Constitution Plaza Hartford, CT 06103 Telephone: (860) 251-5000 Facsimile: (860) 251-5099 jotoole@goodwin.com smurphy2@goodwin.com egoldstein@goodwin.com Diane C. Polletta (admitted pro hac vice) Sarah J. McGinley (admitted pro hac vice) 300 Atlantic Street, Third Floor Stamford, CT 06901 Telephone: (203) 324-8100 Facsimile: (203) 324-8199 dpolletta@goodwin.com smcginley@goodwin.com KEKER & VAN NEST LLP 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 By: /s/ Paula L. Blizzard Paula L. Blizzard (# 207920) Jan Nielsen Little (# 100029) Shilpi Agarwal (# 270749) KEKER & VAN NEST LLP 633 Battery Street San Francisco, CA 94111 Telephone: (415) 773-6608 Facsimile: (415) 397-7188 pblizzard@kvn.com jlittle@kvn.com sagarwal@kvn.com 6 JOINT STIPULATION TO EXTEND TWO DEADLINES IN THE CASE MANAGEMENT ORDER CASE NO. 3:11-CV-04766-JSW Case3:11-cv-04766-JSW Document204 Filed11/19/13 Page7 of 7 1 Attorneys for Defendant Agri-Mark, Inc. 2 STEPTOE & JOHNSON LLP 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 By: /s/ Chong S. Park Chong S. Park (admitted pro hac vice) Kenneth P. Ewing (admitted pro hac vice) John J. Kavanagh (admitted pro hac vice) STEPTOE & JOHNSON LLP 1330 Connecticut Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20036 Telephone (202) 429-3000 Facsimile (202) 429-3902 Email: cpark@steptoe.com Email: kewing@steptoe.com Email: jkavanagh@steptoe.com 13 Dylan Ruga STEPTOE & JOHNSON LLP 2121 Avenue of the Stars Los Angeles, CA 90067 Telephone: (310) 734-3200 Facsimile: (310) 734-3300 Email: druga@steptoe.com 14 Attorneys for Defendant National Milk Producers Federation 10 11 12 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 I, Paula L. Blizzard, attest that concurrence in the filing of this document has been obtained from each of the other signatories. Pursuant to the stipulation, the Court authorizes the extensions for the filing of the opposition and reply briefs. However, the Court DENIES without prejudice the request to file motions to strike expert reports 28 days before the hearing date. The Court requires all motions to be completely briefed at least 14 days PURSUANT TO STIPULATION, IT IS SO ORDERED: before a hearing date. The parties may submit a revised stipulation providing a proposed briefing schedule in accordance with this requirement. Dated the ______ day of ______________, 2013 25 November 22 _________________________________ The Honorable Jeffrey S. White 23 24 25 26 27 28 7 JOINT STIPULATION TO EXTEND TWO DEADLINES IN THE CASE MANAGEMENT ORDER CASE NO. 3:11-CV-04766-JSW