2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 2A - ADMINISTRATION OF CIVIL AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE
Section 2A:18-56 - Proof of notice to quit prerequisite to judgment


NJ Rev Stat § 2A:18-56 (2013) What's This?

2A:18-56. Proof of notice to quit prerequisite to judgment
No judgment for possession in cases specified in paragraph "a." of section 2A:18-53 of this Title shall be ordered unless:

a. The tenancy, if a tenancy at will or from year to year, has been terminated by the giving of 3 months' notice to quit, which notice shall be deemed to be sufficient; or

b. The tenancy, if a tenancy from month to month, has been terminated by the giving of 1 month's notice to quit, which notice shall be deemed to be sufficient; or

c. The tenancy, if for a term other than at will, from year to year, or from month to month, has been terminated by the giving of one term's notice to quit, which notice shall be deemed to be sufficient; and

d. It shall be shown to the satisfaction of the court by due proof that the notice herein required has been given.

L.1951 (1st SS), c.344; amended by L.1975, c. 136, s. 1, eff. July 7, 1975.


Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.