2011 Montana Code Annotated
TITLE 61. MOTOR VEHICLES
CHAPTER 8. TRAFFIC REGULATION
Part 4. Driving Under Influence of Alcohol or Drugs
61-8-465. Aggravated DUI.


MT Code § 61-8-465 (1993 through 62d Legis Reg Sess) What's This?


61-8-465. Aggravated DUI. (1) A person commits the offense of aggravated driving under the influence if the person is in violation of 61-8-401 or 61-8-406 and at the time of the offense:
(a) the person's blood alcohol concentration is 0.16 or more;
(b) the person is under the order of a court or the department to equip any motor vehicle the person operates with an approved ignition interlock device;
(c) the person's driver's license or privilege to drive is suspended, canceled, or revoked as a result of a prior violation of 61-8-401, 61-8-402, or 61-8-406;
(d) the person refuses to provide a breath or blood sample as required in 61-8-402 and the person's driver's license or privilege to drive was suspended, canceled, or revoked under 61-8-402 within 10 years of the commission of the present offense; or
(e) the person has one prior conviction or pending charge for a violation of 45-5-106, 45-5-205, 61-8-401, 61-8-406, or this section within 3 years of the commission of the present offense, or two or more prior convictions or pending charges, or any combination thereof, for violations of 45-5-106, 45-5-205, 61-8-401, 61-8-406, or this section within 7 years of the commission of the present offense.
(2) A person convicted of the offense of aggravated driving under the influence shall be punished by:
(a) a fine of $1,000; and
(b) a term of imprisonment of not more than 1 year, part of which may be suspended, except for the mandatory minimum sentences set forth in 61-8-714.
(3) During the suspended sentence imposed by the court under subsection (2)(b):
(a) the person is subject to all conditions of the suspended sentence imposed by the court, including mandatory participation in drug or DUI courts if available;
(b) the person is subject to all conditions of the 24/7 sobriety program if available and if imposed by the court; and
(c) if the person violates any condition of the suspended sentence or any treatment requirement, the court may impose the remainder of any imprisonment term that was imposed and suspended.
(4) Absolute liability, as provided for in 45-2-104, is imposed for a violation of this section.

History: En. Sec. 1, Ch. 282, L. 2011.


Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Montana may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.