2005 Florida Code - MOTOR VEHICLES DISPOSITION OF TRAFFIC INFRACTIONSChapter 318

CHAPTER 318

DISPOSITION OF TRAFFIC INFRACTIONS

318.11  Short title.

318.12  Purpose.

318.121  Preemption of additional fees, fines, surcharges, and costs.

318.1215  Dori Slosberg Driver Education Safety Act.

318.13  Definitions.

318.14  Noncriminal traffic infractions; exception; procedures.

318.143  Sanctions for infractions by minors.

318.1451  Driver improvement schools.

318.15  Failure to comply with civil penalty or to appear; penalty.

318.16  Appeals; stay orders; procedures.

318.17  Offenses excepted.

318.18  Amount of civil penalties.

318.19  Infractions requiring a mandatory hearing.

318.20  Notification; duties of department.

318.21  Disposition of civil penalties by county courts.

318.30  Legislative intent.

318.31  Objectives.

318.32  Jurisdiction; limitations.

318.325  Jurisdiction and procedure for parking infractions.

318.33  Appeals.

318.34  Qualifications.

318.35  Term of office.

318.36  Code of ethics.

318.38  Nonseverability.

318.11  Short title.--This chapter may be known and cited as the "Florida Uniform Disposition of Traffic Infractions Act."

History.--s. 1, ch. 74-377.

318.12  Purpose.--It is the legislative intent in the adoption of this chapter to decriminalize certain violations of chapter 316, the Florida Uniform Traffic Control Law; chapter 320, Motor Vehicle Licenses; chapter 322, Drivers' Licenses; chapter 338, Florida Intrastate Highway System and Toll Facilities; and chapter 1006, Support of Learning, thereby facilitating the implementation of a more uniform and expeditious system for the disposition of traffic infractions.

History.--s. 1, ch. 74-377; s. 1, ch. 79-27; s. 21, ch. 83-215; s. 13, ch. 84-359; s. 247, ch. 99-248; s. 962, ch. 2002-387.

318.121  Preemption of additional fees, fines, surcharges, and costs.--Notwithstanding any general or special law, or municipal or county ordinance, additional fees, fines, surcharges, or costs other than the court costs and surcharges assessed under s. 318.18(11) and (13) may not be added to the civil traffic penalties assessed in this chapter.

History.--s. 42, ch. 96-350; s. 14, ch. 97-225; s. 47, ch. 2005-236.

318.1215  Dori Slosberg Driver Education Safety Act.--Effective October 1, 2002, notwithstanding the provisions of s. 318.121, a board of county commissioners may require, by ordinance, that the clerk of the court collect an additional $3 with each civil traffic penalty, which shall be used to fund driver education programs in public and nonpublic schools. The ordinance shall provide for the board of county commissioners to administer the funds, which shall be used for enhancement, and not replacement, of driver education program funds. The funds shall be used for direct educational expenses and shall not be used for administration. Each driver education program receiving funds pursuant to this section shall require that a minimum of 30 percent of a student's time in the program be behind-the-wheel training. This section may be cited as the "Dori Slosberg Driver Education Safety Act."

History.--s. 98, ch. 2002-20; s. 10, ch. 2005-164.

318.13  Definitions.--The following words and phrases, when used in this chapter, shall have the meanings respectively ascribed to them in this section, except where the context otherwise requires:

(1)  "Department" means Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, defined in s. 20.24, or the appropriate division thereof.

(2)  "Suspension" means that a licensee's privilege to drive a motor vehicle is temporarily withdrawn.

(3)  "Infraction" means a noncriminal violation that may require community service hours under s. 316.027(4), but is not punishable by incarceration and for which there is no right to a trial by jury or a right to court-appointed counsel.

(4)  "Official" means any judge authorized by law to preside over a court or hearing adjudicating traffic infractions.

(5)  "Officer" means any law enforcement officer charged with and acting under his or her authority to arrest persons suspected of, or known to be, violating statutes or ordinances regulating traffic or the operation or equipment of vehicles. "Officer" includes any individual employed by a sheriff's department or the police department of a chartered municipality who is acting as a traffic infraction enforcement officer as provided in s. 316.640.

History.--s. 1, ch. 74-377; s. 1, ch. 76-183; s. 1, ch. 77-119; s. 12, ch. 94-306; s. 907, ch. 95-148; s. 93, ch. 99-13; s. 248, ch. 99-248.

318.14  Noncriminal traffic infractions; exception; procedures.--

(1)  Except as provided in ss. 318.17 and 320.07(3)(c), any person cited for a violation of chapter 316, s. 320.0605, s. 320.07(3)(a) or (b), s. 322.065, s. 322.15(1), s. 322.16(2) or (3), s. 322.161(5), s. 322.19, or s. 1006.66(3) is charged with a noncriminal infraction and must be cited for such an infraction and cited to appear before an official. If another person dies as a result of the noncriminal infraction, the person cited may be required to perform 120 community service hours under s. 316.027(4), in addition to any other penalties.

(2)  Except as provided in s. 316.1001(2), any person cited for an infraction under this section must sign and accept a citation indicating a promise to appear. The officer may indicate on the traffic citation the time and location of the scheduled hearing and must indicate the applicable civil penalty established in s. 318.18.

(3)  Any person who willfully refuses to accept and sign a summons is guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree.

(4)  Except as provided in subsection (12), any person charged with a noncriminal infraction under this section who does not elect to appear shall pay the civil penalty and delinquent fee, if applicable, either by mail or in person, within 30 days after the date of issuance of the citation. If the person cited follows the above procedure, he or she shall be deemed to have admitted the infraction and to have waived his or her right to a hearing on the issue of commission of the infraction. Such admission shall not be used as evidence in any other proceedings. Any person who is cited for a violation of s. 320.0605 or s. 322.15(1), or subject to a penalty under s. 320.07(3)(a) or (b) or s. 322.065, and who makes an election under this subsection shall submit proof of compliance with the applicable section to the clerk of the court. For the purposes of this subsection, proof of compliance consists of a valid driver's license or a valid registration certificate.

(5)  Any person electing to appear before the designated official or who is required so to appear shall be deemed to have waived his or her right to the civil penalty provisions of s. 318.18. The official, after a hearing, shall make a determination as to whether an infraction has been committed. If the commission of an infraction has been proven, the official may impose a civil penalty not to exceed $500, except that in cases involving unlawful speed in a school zone or involving unlawful speed in a construction zone, the civil penalty may not exceed $1,000; or require attendance at a driver improvement school, or both. If the person is required to appear before the designated official pursuant to s. 318.19(1) and is found to have committed the infraction, the designated official shall impose a civil penalty of $1,000 in addition to any other penalties and the person's driver's license shall be suspended for 6 months. If the person is required to appear before the designated official pursuant to s. 318.19(2) and is found to have committed the infraction, the designated official shall impose a civil penalty of $500 in addition to any other penalties and the person's driver's license shall be suspended for 3 months. If the official determines that no infraction has been committed, no costs or penalties shall be imposed and any costs or penalties that have been paid shall be returned. Moneys received from the mandatory civil penalties imposed pursuant to this subsection upon persons required to appear before a designated official pursuant to s. 318.19(1) or (2) shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue and deposited into the Department of Health Administrative Trust Fund to provide financial support to certified trauma centers to assure the availability and accessibility of trauma services throughout the state. Funds deposited into the Administrative Trust Fund under this section shall be allocated as follows:

(a)  Fifty percent shall be allocated equally among all Level I, Level II, and pediatric trauma centers in recognition of readiness costs for maintaining trauma services.

(b)  Fifty percent shall be allocated among Level I, Level II, and pediatric trauma centers based on each center's relative volume of trauma cases as reported in the Department of Health Trauma Registry.

(6)  The commission of a charged infraction at a hearing under this chapter must be proved beyond a reasonable doubt.

(7)(a)  The official having jurisdiction over the infraction shall certify to the department within 10 days after payment of the civil penalty that the defendant has admitted to the infraction. If the charge results in a hearing, the official having jurisdiction shall certify to the department the final disposition within 10 days after the hearing. All dispositions returned to the county requiring a correction shall be resubmitted to the department within 10 days after the notification of the error.

(b)  If the official having jurisdiction over the traffic infraction submits the final disposition to the department more than 180 days after the final hearing or after payment of the civil penalty, the department may modify any resulting suspension or revocation action to begin as if the citation were reported in a timely manner.

(8)  When a report of a determination or admission of an infraction is received by the department, it shall proceed to enter the proper number of points on the licensee's driving record in accordance with s. 322.27.

(9)  Any person who does not hold a commercial driver's license and who is cited for an infraction under this section other than a violation of s. 320.0605, s. 320.07(3)(a) or (b), s. 322.065, s. 322.15(1), s. 322.61, or s. 322.62 may, in lieu of a court appearance, elect to attend in the location of his or her choice within this state a basic driver improvement course approved by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. In such a case, adjudication must be withheld; points, as provided by s. 322.27, may not be assessed; and the civil penalty that is imposed by s. 318.18(3) must be reduced by 18 percent; however, a person may not make an election under this subsection if the person has made an election under this subsection in the preceding 12 months. A person may make no more than five elections under this subsection. The requirement for community service under s. 318.18(8) is not waived by a plea of nolo contendere or by the withholding of adjudication of guilt by a court.

(10)(a)  Any person who does not hold a commercial driver's license and who is cited for an offense listed under this subsection may, in lieu of payment of fine or court appearance, elect to enter a plea of nolo contendere and provide proof of compliance to the clerk of the court or authorized operator of a traffic violations bureau. In such case, adjudication shall be withheld; however, no election shall be made under this subsection if such person has made an election under this subsection in the 12 months preceding election hereunder. No person may make more than three elections under this subsection. This subsection applies to the following offenses:

1.  Operating a motor vehicle without a valid driver's license in violation of the provisions of s. 322.03, s. 322.065, or s. 322.15(1), or operating a motor vehicle with a license which has been suspended for failure to appear, failure to pay civil penalty, or failure to attend a driver improvement course pursuant to s. 322.291.

2.  Operating a motor vehicle without a valid registration in violation of s. 320.0605, s. 320.07, or s. 320.131.

3.  Operating a motor vehicle in violation of s. 316.646.

(b)  Any person cited for an offense listed in this subsection shall present proof of compliance prior to the scheduled court appearance date. For the purposes of this subsection, proof of compliance shall consist of a valid, renewed, or reinstated driver's license or registration certificate and proper proof of maintenance of security as required by s. 316.646. Notwithstanding waiver of fine, any person establishing proof of compliance shall be assessed court costs of $22, except that a person charged with violation of s. 316.646(1)-(3) may be assessed court costs of $7. One dollar of such costs shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit into the Child Welfare Training Trust Fund of the Department of Children and Family Services. One dollar of such costs shall be distributed to the Department of Juvenile Justice for deposit into the Juvenile Justice Training Trust Fund. Twelve dollars of such costs shall be distributed to the municipality and $8 shall be deposited by the clerk of the court into the fine and forfeiture fund established pursuant to s. 142.01, if the offense was committed within the municipality. If the offense was committed in an unincorporated area of a county or if the citation was for a violation of s. 316.646(1)-(3), the entire amount shall be deposited by the clerk of the court into the fine and forfeiture fund established pursuant to s. 142.01, except for the moneys to be deposited into the Child Welfare Training Trust Fund and the Juvenile Justice Training Trust Fund. This subsection shall not be construed to authorize the operation of a vehicle without a valid driver's license, without a valid vehicle tag and registration, or without the maintenance of required security.

(11)  If adjudication is withheld for any person charged or cited under this section, such action is not a conviction.

(12)  Any person cited for a violation of s. 316.1001 may, in lieu of making an election as set forth in subsection (4) or s. 318.18(7), elect to pay his or her fine directly to the governmental entity that issued the citation, within 30 days after the date of issuance of the citation. Any person cited for a violation of s. 316.1001 who does not elect to pay the fine directly to the governmental entity that issued the citation as described in this section shall have an additional 45 days after the date of the issuance of the citation in which to pay the civil penalty and delinquent fee, if applicable, as provided in s. 318.18(7), either by mail or in person, in accordance with subsection (4).

History.--s. 1, ch. 74-377; s. 2, ch. 79-27; s. 194, ch. 81-259; s. 7, ch. 82-97; s. 22, ch. 83-215; s. 268, ch. 84-309; s. 14, ch. 84-359; s. 59, ch. 85-180; s. 2, ch. 85-250; s. 1, ch. 86-12; s. 5, ch. 86-154; s. 2, ch. 86-182; ss. 1, 3, ch. 86-185; s. 1, ch. 87-108; s. 1, ch. 88-50; s. 53, ch. 89-282; s. 2, ch. 90-230; ss. 1, 6, ch. 91-200; ss. 1, 5, ch. 92-195; s. 19, ch. 93-164; ss. 13, 36, ch. 94-306; s. 908, ch. 95-148; s. 58, ch. 95-267; s. 2, ch. 95-326; s. 7, ch. 96-200; s. 43, ch. 96-350; s. 8, ch. 96-414; s. 46, ch. 97-300; s. 58, ch. 99-8; s. 94, ch. 99-13; ss. 7, 249, ch. 99-248; s. 27, ch. 2001-122; s. 963, ch. 2002-387; s. 27, ch. 2003-1; s. 21, ch. 2003-286; s. 58, ch. 2004-265; ss. 11, 57, ch. 2005-164.

318.143  Sanctions for infractions by minors.--

(1)  If the court finds that a minor has committed a violation of any of the provisions of chapter 316, the court may also impose one or more of the following sanctions:

(a)  The court may reprimand or counsel the minor and his or her parents or guardian.

(b)  The court may require the minor to attend, for a reasonable period, a traffic school conducted by a public authority.

(c)  The court may order the minor to remit to the general fund of the local governmental body a sum not exceeding the maximum fine applicable to an adult for a like offense.

(d)  The court may order the minor to participate in public service or a community work project for a minimum number of hours. A minor who participates in such a work program is considered an employee of the state for the purposes of chapter 440.

(e)  The court may impose a curfew or other restriction on the liberty of the minor for a period not to exceed 6 months.

(2)  Failure to comply with one or more of the sanctions imposed by the court constitutes contempt of court. Upon a finding by the court, after notice and a hearing, that a minor is in contempt of court for failure to comply with court-ordered sanctions, the court may:

(a)  For a first offense, order the minor to serve up to 5 days in a staff-secure shelter as defined in chapter 984 or chapter 985 or, if space in a staff-secure shelter is unavailable, in a secure juvenile detention center.

(b)  For a second or subsequent offense, the court may order a minor to serve up to 15 days in a staff-secure shelter or, if space in a staff-secure shelter is unavailable, in a secure juvenile detention center.

(3)  Except for a conviction of a violation of s. 316.027, a minor may not be imprisoned in an adult detention facility. If a minor is imprisoned for a violation of s. 316.027, the minor may not be placed in the same cell as an adult. The receiving facility must have adequate staff to supervise and monitor the minor's activities at all times. This subsection does not prohibit placing two or more minors in the same cell.

(4)  For the first conviction for a violation of s. 316.193, the court may order the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to revoke the minor's driver's license until the minor is 18 years of age. For a second or subsequent conviction for such a violation, the court may order the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to revoke the minor's driver's license until the minor is 21 years of age.

(5)  A minor who is arrested for a violation of s. 316.193 may be released from custody as soon as:

(a)  The minor is no longer under the influence of alcoholic beverages, of any chemical substance set forth in s. 877.111, or of any substance controlled under chapter 893, and is not affected to the extent that his or her normal faculties are impaired;

(b)  The minor's blood-alcohol level is less than 0.05 percent; or

(c)  Six hours have elapsed after the minor's arrest.

History.--s. 45, ch. 96-350; s. 28, ch. 98-280.

318.1451  Driver improvement schools.--

(1)(a)  The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall approve the courses of all driver improvement schools, as the courses relate to ss. 318.14(9), 322.0261, and 322.291. The chief judge of the applicable judicial circuit may establish requirements regarding the location of schools within the judicial circuit. A person may engage in the business of operating a driver improvement school that offers department-approved courses related to ss. 318.14(9), 322.0261, and 322.291.

(b)  The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall approve and regulate courses that use technology as the delivery method of all driver improvement schools as the courses relate to ss. 318.14(9) and 322.0261.

(2)(a)  In determining whether to approve the courses referenced in this section, the department shall consider course content designed to promote safety, driver awareness, crash avoidance techniques, and other factors or criteria to improve driver performance from a safety viewpoint.

(b)  In determining whether to approve courses of driver improvement schools that use technology as the delivery method as the courses relate to ss. 318.14(9) and 322.0261, the department shall consider only those courses submitted by a person, business, or entity which have approval for statewide delivery.

(3)  The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall suspend accepting proof of attendance of courses from persons who attend those schools that do not teach an approved course. In those circumstances, a person who has elected to take courses from such a school shall receive a refund from the school, and the person shall have the opportunity to take the course at another school.

(4)  In addition to a regular course fee, an assessment fee in the amount of $2.50 shall be collected by the school from each person who elects to attend a course, as it relates to ss. 318.14(9), 322.0261, 322.291, and 627.06501, which shall be remitted to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and deposited in the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund to administer this program and to fund the general operations of the department.

(5)(a)  The department is authorized to maintain the information and records necessary to administer its duties and responsibilities for driver improvement courses. Where such information is a public record as defined in chapter 119, it shall be made available to the public upon request pursuant to s. 119.07(1).

(b)  The department or court may prepare a traffic school reference guide which lists the benefits of attending a driver improvement school and contains the names of the fully approved course providers with a single telephone number for each provider as furnished by the provider.

History.--ss. 2, 6, ch. 91-200; ss. 2, 5, ch. 92-195; s. 61, ch. 93-120; s. 37, ch. 94-306; s. 3, ch. 95-326; s. 2, ch. 97-178; s. 14, ch. 99-5; s. 6, ch. 99-234; ss. 78, 250, ch. 99-248; s. 19, ch. 2000-313; s. 5, ch. 2002-235.

318.15  Failure to comply with civil penalty or to appear; penalty.--

(1)(a)  If a person fails to comply with the civil penalties provided in s. 318.18 within the time period specified in s. 318.14(4), fails to attend driver improvement school, or fails to appear at a scheduled hearing, the clerk of the court shall notify the Division of Driver Licenses of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles of such failure within 10 days after such failure. Upon receipt of such notice, the department shall immediately issue an order suspending the driver's license and privilege to drive of such person effective 20 days after the date the order of suspension is mailed in accordance with s. 322.251(1), (2), and (6). Any such suspension of the driving privilege which has not been reinstated, including a similar suspension imposed outside Florida, shall remain on the records of the department for a period of 7 years from the date imposed and shall be removed from the records after the expiration of 7 years from the date it is imposed.

(b)  However, a person who elects to attend driver improvement school and has paid the civil penalty as provided in s. 318.14(9), but who subsequently fails to attend the driver improvement school within the time specified by the court shall be deemed to have admitted the infraction and shall be adjudicated guilty. In such case the person must pay the clerk of the court the 18 percent deducted pursuant to s. 318.14(9), and a processing fee of up to $15, after which no additional penalties, court costs, or surcharges shall be imposed for the violation. The clerk of the court shall notify the department of the person's failure to attend driver improvement school and points shall be assessed pursuant to s. 322.27.

(2)  After suspension of the driver's license and privilege to drive of a person under subsection (1), the license and privilege may not be reinstated until the person complies with all obligations and penalties imposed on him or her under s. 318.18 and presents to a driver license office a certificate of compliance issued by the court, together with a nonrefundable service charge of up to $47.50 imposed under s. 322.29, or presents a certificate of compliance and pays the aforementioned service charge of up to $47.50 to the clerk of the court or tax collector clearing such suspension. Of the charge collected by the clerk of the court or the tax collector, $10 shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. Such person shall also be in compliance with requirements of chapter 322 prior to reinstatement.

History.--s. 1, ch. 74-377; s. 1, ch. 80-262; s. 6, ch. 86-154; s. 333, ch. 95-148; s. 9, ch. 96-413; s. 50, ch. 97-300; s. 8, ch. 99-248; s. 98, ch. 2003-402; s. 1, ch. 2003-410; s. 59, ch. 2004-265.

318.16  Appeals; stay orders; procedures.--

(1)  If a person is found to have committed an infraction by the hearing official, he or she may appeal that finding to the circuit court. An appeal under this subsection shall not operate to stay the reporting requirements of s. 318.14(7) or to stay appropriate action by the department upon receipt of that report.

(2)  The circuit court, upon application by the appellant, may:

(a)  Order a stay of any action by the department during pendency of the appeal, but not to exceed a period of 60 days. A copy of the order shall be forwarded to the department.

(b)  Deny the application.

History.--s. 1, ch. 74-377; s. 334, ch. 95-148.

318.17  Offenses excepted.--No provision of this chapter is available to a person who is charged with any of the following offenses:

(1)  Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer, in violation of s. 316.1935;

(2)  Leaving the scene of a crash, in violation of ss. 316.027 and 316.061;

(3)  Driving, or being in actual physical control of, any vehicle while under the influence of alcoholic beverages, any chemical substance set forth in s. 877.111, or any substance controlled under chapter 893, in violation of s. 316.193, or driving with an unlawful blood-alcohol level;

(4)  Reckless driving, in violation of s. 316.192;

(5)  Making false crash reports, in violation of s. 316.067;

(6)  Willfully failing or refusing to comply with any lawful order or direction of any police officer or member of the fire department, in violation of s. 316.072(3);

(7)  Obstructing an officer, in violation of s. 316.545(1); or

(8)  Any other offense in chapter 316 which is classified as a criminal violation.

History.--s. 1, ch. 74-377; s. 37, ch. 76-31; s. 4, ch. 77-456; s. 7, ch. 82-155; s. 4, ch. 83-187; s. 4, ch. 85-87; s. 20, ch. 86-296; s. 46, ch. 96-350; s. 251, ch. 99-248; s. 3, ch. 2004-388.

318.18  Amount of civil penalties.--The penalties required for a noncriminal disposition pursuant to s. 318.14 are as follows:

(1)  Fifteen dollars for:

(a)  All infractions of pedestrian regulations.

(b)  All infractions of s. 316.2065, unless otherwise specified.

(c)  Other violations of chapter 316 by persons 14 years of age or under who are operating bicycles, regardless of the noncriminal traffic infraction's classification.

(2)  Thirty dollars for all nonmoving traffic violations and:

(a)  For all violations of s. 322.19.

(b)  For all violations of ss. 320.0605, 320.07(1), 322.065, and 322.15(1). Any person who is cited for a violation of s. 320.07(1) shall be charged a delinquent fee pursuant to s. 320.07(4).

1.  If a person who is cited for a violation of s. 320.0605 or s. 320.07 can show proof of having a valid registration at the time of arrest, the clerk of the court may dismiss the case and may assess a dismissal fee of up to $7.50. A person who finds it impossible or impractical to obtain a valid registration certificate must submit an affidavit detailing the reasons for the impossibility or impracticality. The reasons may include, but are not limited to, the fact that the vehicle was sold, stolen, or destroyed; that the state in which the vehicle is registered does not issue a certificate of registration; or that the vehicle is owned by another person.

2.  If a person who is cited for a violation of s. 322.03, s. 322.065, or s. 322.15 can show a driver's license issued to him or her and valid at the time of arrest, the clerk of the court may dismiss the case and may assess a dismissal fee of up to $7.50.

3.  If a person who is cited for a violation of s. 316.646 can show proof of security as required by s. 627.733, issued to the person and valid at the time of arrest, the clerk of the court may dismiss the case and may assess a dismissal fee of up to $7.50. A person who finds it impossible or impractical to obtain proof of security must submit an affidavit detailing the reasons for the impracticality. The reasons may include, but are not limited to, the fact that the vehicle has since been sold, stolen, or destroyed; that the owner or registrant of the vehicle is not required by s. 627.733 to maintain personal injury protection insurance; or that the vehicle is owned by another person.

(c)  For all violations of ss. 316.2935 and 316.610. However, for a violation of s. 316.2935 or s. 316.610, if the person committing the violation corrects the defect and obtains proof of such timely repair by an affidavit of compliance executed by the law enforcement agency within 30 days from the date upon which the traffic citation was issued, and pays $4 to the law enforcement agency, thereby completing the affidavit of compliance, then upon presentation of said affidavit by the defendant to the clerk within the 30-day time period set forth under s. 318.14(4), the fine must be reduced to $7.50, which the clerk of the court shall retain.

(d)  For all violations of s. 316.126(1)(b), unless otherwise specified.

(3)(a)  Except as otherwise provided in this section, $60 for all moving violations not requiring a mandatory appearance.

(b)  For moving violations involving unlawful speed, the fines are as follows:


For speed exceeding the limit by:

Fine:


1-5 m.p.h. ............ Warning
6-9 m.p.h. ............ $ 25
10-14 m.p.h. ............ $100
15-19 m.p.h. ............ $125
20-29 m.p.h. ............ $150
30 m.p.h. and above ............ $250

(c)  Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a person cited for exceeding the speed limit by up to 5 m.p.h. in a legally posted school zone will be fined $50. A person exceeding the speed limit in a school zone shall pay a fine double the amount listed in paragraph (b).

(d)  A person cited for exceeding the speed limit in a posted construction zone shall pay a fine double the amount listed in paragraph (b). The fine shall be doubled for construction zone violations only if construction personnel are present or operating equipment on the road or immediately adjacent to the road under construction.

(e)  If a violation of s. 316.1301 or s. 316.1303 results in an injury to the pedestrian or damage to the property of the pedestrian, an additional fine of up to $250 shall be paid. This amount must be distributed pursuant to s. 318.21.

(f)  A person cited for exceeding the speed limit within a zone posted for any electronic or manual toll collection facility shall pay a fine double the amount listed in paragraph (b). However, no person cited for exceeding the speed limit in any toll collection zone shall be subject to a doubled fine unless the governmental entity or authority controlling the toll collection zone first installs a traffic control device providing warning that speeding fines are doubled. Any such traffic control device must meet the requirements of the uniform system of traffic control devices.

(4)  The penalty imposed under s. 316.545 shall be determined by the officer in accordance with the provisions of ss. 316.535 and 316.545.

(5)(a)  One hundred dollars for a violation of s. 316.172(1)(a), failure to stop for a school bus. If, at a hearing, the alleged offender is found to have committed this offense, the court shall impose a minimum civil penalty of $100. In addition to this penalty, for a second or subsequent offense within a period of 5 years, the department shall suspend the driver's license of the person for not less than 90 days and not more than 6 months.

(b)  Two hundred dollars for a violation of s. 316.172(1)(b), passing a school bus on the side that children enter and exit when the school bus displays a stop signal. If, at a hearing, the alleged offender is found to have committed this offense, the court shall impose a minimum civil penalty of $200. In addition to this penalty, for a second or subsequent offense within a period of 5 years, the department shall suspend the driver's license of the person for not less than 180 days and not more than 1 year.

(6)  One hundred dollars or the fine amount designated by county ordinance, plus court costs for illegally parking, under s. 316.1955, in a parking space provided for people who have disabilities. However, this fine will be waived if a person provides to the law enforcement agency that issued the citation for such a violation proof that the person committing the violation has a valid parking permit or license plate issued pursuant to s. 316.1958, s. 320.0842, s. 320.0843, s. 320.0845, or s. 320.0848 or a signed affidavit that the owner of the disabled parking permit or license plate was present at the time the violation occurred, and that such a parking permit or license plate was valid at the time the violation occurred. The law enforcement officer, upon determining that all required documentation has been submitted verifying that the required parking permit or license plate was valid at the time of the violation, must sign an affidavit of compliance. Upon provision of the affidavit of compliance and payment of a dismissal fee of up to $7.50 to the clerk of the circuit court, the clerk shall dismiss the citation.

(7)  One hundred dollars for a violation of s. 316.1001. However, a person may elect to pay $30 to the clerk of the court, in which case adjudication is withheld, and no points are assessed under s. 322.27. Upon receipt of the fine, the clerk of the court must retain $5 for administrative purposes and must forward the $25 to the governmental entity that issued the citation. Any funds received by a governmental entity for this violation may be used for any lawful purpose related to the operation or maintenance of a toll facility.

(8)(a)  Any person who fails to comply with the court's requirements or who fails to pay the civil penalties specified in this section within the 30-day period provided for in s. 318.14 must pay an additional civil penalty of $12, $2.50 of which must be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the General Revenue Fund, and $9.50 of which must be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. The department shall contract with the Florida Association of Court Clerks, Inc., to design, establish, operate, upgrade, and maintain an automated statewide Uniform Traffic Citation Accounting System to be operated by the clerks of the court which shall include, but not be limited to, the accounting for traffic infractions by type, a record of the disposition of the citations, and an accounting system for the fines assessed and the subsequent fine amounts paid to the clerks of the court. On or before December 1, 2001, the clerks of the court must provide the information required by this chapter to be transmitted to the department by electronic transmission pursuant to the contract.

(b)  Any person who fails to comply with the court's requirements as to civil penalties specified in this section due to demonstrable financial hardship shall be authorized to satisfy such civil penalties by public works or community service. Each hour of such service shall be applied, at the rate of the minimum wage, toward payment of the person's civil penalties; provided, however, that if the person has a trade or profession for which there is a community service need and application, the rate for each hour of such service shall be the average standard wage for such trade or profession. Any person who fails to comply with the court's requirements as to such civil penalties who does not demonstrate financial hardship may also, at the discretion of the court, be authorized to satisfy such civil penalties by public works or community service in the same manner.

(c)  If the noncriminal infraction has caused or resulted in the death of another, the person who committed the infraction may perform 120 community service hours under s. 316.027(4), in addition to any other penalties.

(9)  One hundred dollars for a violation of s. 316.1575.

(10)  Twenty-five dollars for a violation of s. 316.2074.

(11)(a)  In addition to the stated fine, court costs must be paid in the following amounts and shall be deposited by the clerk into the fine and forfeiture fund established pursuant to s. 142.01:


For pedestrian infractions ............ $ 3.

For nonmoving traffic infractions ............ $ 16.

For moving traffic infractions ............ $ 30.

(b)  In addition to the court cost required under paragraph (a), up to $3 for each infraction shall be collected and distributed by the clerk in those counties that have been authorized to establish a criminal justice selection center or a criminal justice access and assessment center pursuant to the following special acts of the Legislature:

1.  Chapter 87-423, Laws of Florida, for Brevard County.

2.  Chapter 89-521, Laws of Florida, for Bay County.

3.  Chapter 94-444, Laws of Florida, for Alachua County.

4.  Chapter 97-333, Laws of Florida, for Pinellas County.

Funds collected by the clerk pursuant to this paragraph shall be distributed to the centers authorized by those special acts.

(c)  In addition to the court cost required under paragraph (a), a $2.50 court cost must be paid for each infraction to be distributed by the clerk to the county to help pay for criminal justice education and training programs pursuant to s. 938.15. Funds from the distribution to the county not directed by the county to fund these centers or programs shall be retained by the clerk and used for funding the court-related services of the clerk.

(d)  In addition to the court cost required under paragraph (a), a $3 court cost must be paid for each infraction to be distributed as provided in s. 938.01 and a $2 court cost as provided in s. 938.15 when assessed by a municipality or county.

(12)  One hundred dollars for a violation of s. 316.520(1) or (2). If, at a hearing, the alleged offender is found to have committed this offense, the court shall impose a minimum civil penalty of $100. For a second or subsequent adjudication within a period of 5 years, the department shall suspend the driver's license of the person for not less than 180 days and not more than 1 year.

(13)  In addition to any penalties imposed for noncriminal traffic infractions pursuant to this chapter or imposed for criminal violations listed in s. 318.17, a board of county commissioners or any unit of local government which is consolidated as provided by s. 9, Art. VIII of the State Constitution of 1885, as preserved by s. 6(e), Art. VIII of the Constitution of 1968:

(a)  May impose by ordinance a surcharge of up to $15 for any infraction or violation to fund state court facilities. The court shall not waive this surcharge. Up to 25 percent of the revenue from such surcharge may be used to support local law libraries provided that the county or unit of local government provides a level of service equal to that provided prior to July 1, 2004, which shall include the continuation of library facilities located in or near the county courthouse or annexes.

(b)  That imposed increased fees or service charges by ordinance under s. 28.2401, s. 28.241, or s. 34.041 for the purpose of securing payment of the principal and interest on bonds issued by the county before July 1, 2003, to finance state court facilities, may impose by ordinance a surcharge for any infraction or violation for the exclusive purpose of securing payment of the principal and interest on bonds issued by the county before July 1, 2003, to fund state court facilities until the date of stated maturity. The court shall not waive this surcharge. Such surcharge may not exceed an amount per violation calculated as the quotient of the maximum annual payment of the principal and interest on the bonds as of July 1, 2003, divided by the number of traffic citations for county fiscal year 2002-2003 certified as paid by the clerk of the court of the county. Such quotient shall be rounded up to the next highest dollar amount. The bonds may be refunded only if savings will be realized on payments of debt service and the refunding bonds are scheduled to mature on the same date or before the bonds being refunded.

A county may not impose both of the surcharges authorized under paragraphs (a) and (b) concurrently. The clerk of court shall report, no later than 30 days after the end of the quarter, the amount of funds collected under this subsection during each quarter of the fiscal year. The clerk shall submit the report, in a format developed by the Office of State Courts Administrator, to the chief judge of the circuit, the Governor, the President of the Senate, and the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

(14)  In addition to any penalties imposed for noncriminal traffic infractions under this chapter or imposed for criminal violations listed in s. 318.17, any unit of local government that is consolidated as provided by s. 9, Art. VIII of the State Constitution of 1885, as preserved by s. 6(e), Art. VIII of the State Constitution of 1968, and that is granted the authority in the State Constitution to exercise all the powers of a municipal corporation, and any unit of local government operating under a home rule charter adopted pursuant to ss. 10, 11, and 24, Art. VIII of the State Constitution of 1885, as preserved by s. 6(e), Art. VIII of the State Constitution of 1968, that is granted the authority in the State Constitution to exercise all the powers conferred now or hereafter by general law upon municipalities, may impose by ordinance a surcharge of up to $15 for any infraction or violation. Revenue from the surcharge shall be transferred to such unit of local government for the purpose of replacing fine revenue deposited into the clerk's fine and forfeiture fund under s. 142.01. The court may not waive this surcharge. Proceeds from the imposition of the surcharge authorized in this subsection shall not be used for the purpose of securing payment of the principal and interest on bonds. This subsection, and any surcharge imposed pursuant to this subsection, shall stand repealed September 30, 2007.

(15)  One hundred twenty-five dollars for a violation of s. 316.074(1) or s. 316.075(1)(c)1. when a driver has failed to stop at a traffic signal. Sixty dollars shall be distributed as provided in s. 318.21, and the remaining $65 shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit into the Administrative Trust Fund of the Department of Health.

History.--s. 1, ch. 74-377; s. 38, ch. 76-31; s. 3, ch. 79-27; s. 1, ch. 80-179; s. 195, ch. 81-259; s. 2, ch. 82-58; s. 2, ch. 84-73; s. 15, ch. 84-359; s. 25, ch. 85-167; s. 3, ch. 85-250; s. 2, ch. 85-255; s. 6, ch. 85-309; s. 4, ch. 85-337; s. 3, ch. 86-49; s. 7, ch. 86-154; s. 4, ch. 86-185; s. 3, ch. 86-260; s. 2, ch. 87-108; s. 2, ch. 87-167; ss. 2, 5, ch. 88-50; s. 2, ch. 88-305; ss. 61, 72, ch. 88-381; s. 6, ch. 89-212; s. 2, ch. 90-141; s. 8, ch. 90-290; ss. 10, 26, ch. 90-330; s. 3, ch. 91-136; s. 3, ch. 91-200; s. 1, ch. 92-192; s. 21, ch. 93-164; s. 14, ch. 94-306; s. 2, ch. 96-185; s. 8, ch. 96-200; s. 47, ch. 96-350; s. 2, ch. 97-10; s. 9, ch. 97-76; s. 13, ch. 97-225; ss. 3, 4, ch. 97-300; s. 4, ch. 98-202; s. 6, ch. 98-223; s. 8, ch. 98-251; s. 3, ch. 98-319; ss. 9, 252, ch. 99-248; s. 42, ch. 2000-152; s. 10, ch. 2001-122; s. 4, ch. 2001-196; s. 107, ch. 2002-20; s. 4, ch. 2002-217; s. 6, ch. 2002-235; s. 99, ch. 2003-402; s. 60, ch. 2004-265; s. 3, ch. 2005-194; s. 48, ch. 2005-236.

318.19  Infractions requiring a mandatory hearing.--Any person cited for the infractions listed in this section shall not have the provisions of s. 318.14(2), (4), and (9) available to him or her but must appear before the designated official at the time and location of the scheduled hearing:

(1)  Any infraction which results in a crash that causes the death of another;

(2)  Any infraction which results in a crash that causes "serious bodily injury" of another as defined in s. 316.1933(1);

(3)  Any infraction of s. 316.172(1)(b); or

(4)  Any infraction of s. 316.520(1) or (2).

History.--s. 1, ch. 74-377; s. 91, ch. 77-104; s. 1, ch. 81-34; s. 16, ch. 84-359; s. 4, ch. 85-250; s. 12, ch. 86-154; s. 335, ch. 95-148; s. 3, ch. 97-10; s. 5, ch. 97-300; s. 253, ch. 99-248; s. 108, ch. 2002-20.

318.20  Notification; duties of department.--The department shall prepare a notification form to be appended to, or incorporated as a part of, the Florida uniform traffic citation issued in accordance with s. 316.650. The notification form shall contain language informing persons charged with infractions to which this chapter applies of the procedures available to them under this chapter. Such notification shall contain a statement that, if the official determines that no infraction has been committed, no costs or penalties shall be imposed and any costs or penalties which have been paid shall be returned. A uniform traffic citation that is produced electronically must also include the information required by this section.

History.--s. 1, ch. 74-377; s. 39, ch. 76-31; s. 8, ch. 86-154; s. 2, ch. 86-185; s. 48, ch. 96-350.

1318.21  Disposition of civil penalties by county courts.--All civil penalties received by a county court pursuant to the provisions of this chapter shall be distributed and paid monthly as follows:

(1)  One dollar from every civil penalty shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit into the Child Welfare Training Trust Fund for child welfare training purposes pursuant to s. 402.40. One dollar from every civil penalty shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit into the Juvenile Justice Training Trust Fund for juvenile justice purposes pursuant to s. 985.406.

(2)  Of the remainder:

(a)  Twenty and six-tenths percent shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit into the General Revenue Fund of the state, except that the first $300,000 shall be deposited into the Grants and Donations Trust Fund in the Justice Administrative Commission for administrative costs, training costs, and costs associated with the implementation and maintenance of Florida foster care citizen review panels in a constitutional charter county as provided for in s. 39.702.

(b)  Seven and two-tenths percent shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Emergency Medical Services Trust Fund for the purposes set forth in s. 401.113.

(c)  Five and one-tenth percent shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Additional Court Cost Clearing Trust Fund established pursuant to s. 938.01 for criminal justice purposes.

(d)  Eight and two-tenths percent shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Brain and Spinal Cord Injury Rehabilitation Trust Fund for the purposes set forth in s. 381.79.

(e)  Two percent shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the endowment fund of the Florida Endowment Foundation for Vocational Rehabilitation established by s. 413.615.

(f)  Five-tenths percent shall be paid to the clerk of the court for administrative costs.

(g)1.  If the violation occurred within a special improvement district of the Seminole Indian Tribe or Miccosukee Indian Tribe, 56.4 percent shall be paid to that special improvement district.

2.  If the violation occurred within a municipality, 50.8 percent shall be paid to that municipality and 5.6 percent shall be deposited into the fine and forfeiture trust fund established pursuant to s. 142.01.

3.  If the violation occurred within the unincorporated area of a county, including the unincorporated areas, if any, of a government created pursuant to s. 6(e), Art. VIII of the State Constitution, that is not within a special improvement district of the Seminole Indian Tribe or Miccosukee Indian Tribe, 56.4 percent shall be deposited into the fine and forfeiture fund established pursuant to s. 142.01.

(3)  Moneys paid to a municipality or special improvement district under subparagraph (2)(g)1. must be used to fund local criminal justice training as provided in s. 938.15 when such a program is established by ordinance; to fund a municipal school crossing guard training program; and for any other lawful purpose.

(4)  Of the additional fine assessed under s. 318.18(3)(e) for a violation of s. 316.1301, 40 percent must be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Grants and Donations Trust Fund of the Division of Blind Services of the Department of Education, and 60 percent must be distributed pursuant to subsections (1) and (2).

(5)  Of the additional fine assessed under s. 318.18(3)(e) for a violation of s. 316.1303, 60 percent must be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the endowment fund for the Florida Endowment Foundation for Vocational Rehabilitation, and 40 percent must be distributed pursuant to subsections (1) and (2) of this section.

(6)  For every violation of s. 316.613 or s. 316.614, $5 will be deducted from the civil penalty assessed under this chapter and remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Epilepsy Services Trust Fund established under s. 385.207. The remainder must be distributed pursuant to subsections (1) and (2).

(7)  For fines assessed under s. 318.18(3) for unlawful speed, the following amounts must be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Nongame Wildlife Trust Fund:


For speed exceeding the limit by:

Fine:


1-5 m.p.h. ............ $ .00
6-9 m.p.h. ............ $ .25
10-14 m.p.h. ............ $ 3.00
15-19 m.p.h. ............ $ 4.00
20-29 m.p.h. ............ $ 5.00
30 m.p.h. and above ............ $10.00


The remaining amount must be distributed pursuant to subsections (1) and (2).

(8)  Fines and forfeitures received from violations committed within a municipality must be paid monthly to that municipality; fines and forfeitures received from violations committed within a special improvement district created for the Seminole Indian Tribe or Miccosukee Indian Tribe under s. 285.17 must be paid monthly to that special improvement district. These fines and forfeitures must be paid monthly to that municipality or special improvement district in addition to any other fines and forfeitures received by a county court which are required to be paid to that municipality or special improvement district under any other law. If, on February 1, 1972, any chartered county court that has countywide jurisdiction was trying traffic offenses committed within a municipality in that county, two-thirds of the fines and forfeitures received as a result of violations of this chapter, or of any ordinances adopting matter covered by this chapter, committed within a municipality must be paid and distributed to the municipality, and the remainder must be paid into the fine and forfeiture fund established pursuant to s. 142.01, except as otherwise provided in subsection (5). The amount of fines and forfeitures payable to a special improvement district created under s. 285.17 which is located in a charter county must be determined in the same manner as the amount of fines and forfeitures payable to a municipality in that county. All fines and forfeitures received by any county court as the result of citations issued under s. 316.640(2)(c)1. must be paid into the fine and forfeiture fund established pursuant to s. 142.01 whether or not such citations were issued for parking violations that occurred within a municipality or special improvement district created under s. 285.17.

(9)  Twelve dollars and fifty cents from each moving traffic violation must be used by the county to fund that county's participation in an intergovernmental radio communication program approved by the Department of Management Services. If the county is not participating in such a program, funds collected must be used to fund local law enforcement automation and must be distributed to the municipality or special improvement district in which the violation occurred or to the county if the violation occurred within the unincorporated area of the county.

(10)  The additional costs and surcharges on criminal traffic offenses provided for under ss. 938.03 and 938.04 must be collected and distributed by the clerk of the court as provided in those sections. The additional costs and surcharges must also be collected for the violation of any ordinances adopting the criminal traffic offenses enumerated in s. 318.17.

(11)(a)  A county or municipality may, by majority vote of the governing board of the respective county or municipality, impose a surcharge on parking fines for the sole purpose of funding school crossing guard programs; however, the governing body may set aside funds from this surcharge to pay for startup costs and recurring administrative costs related to printing new tickets or other means of implementing the program. The surcharge must be authorized by ordinance requiring public hearings.

(b)  The proceeds of this surcharge must be placed in a trust fund established by the governing body of the county or municipality called the School Crossing Guard Trust Fund. Funds collected from this surcharge must be distributed quarterly to fund the school crossing guard programs provided in subsection (3).

(c)  If a county government is operating a school crossing guard program in the exercise of its municipal responsibilities, the county may, by majority vote of its governing board, impose a countywide surcharge on parking fines for the sole purpose of funding school crossing guard programs throughout the county; however, the governing body may set aside funds from this surcharge to pay for startup costs and recurring administrative costs related to printing new tickets or other means of implementing the program. The surcharge must be authorized by an ordinance requiring public hearings. This surcharge, established by the governing body of the county, must be placed in a trust fund called the School Crossing Guard Trust Fund. Funds collected from this surcharge must be distributed quarterly to jurisdictions to fund school crossing guard programs based on each jurisdiction's percentage of the school crossing guards in the county school district.

(12)  As of July 1, 2002, the proceeds from the fine as defined in s. 316.126(1)(b) shall be paid to the Crimes Compensation Trust Fund administered by the Office of the Attorney General.

(13)  Of the proceeds from the fine under s. 318.18(14), $65 shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit into the Administrative Trust Fund of the Department of Health and the remaining $60 shall be distributed pursuant to subsections (1) and (2).

(14)  Notwithstanding subsections (1) and (2), the proceeds from the mandatory civil penalties imposed pursuant to s. 318.14(5) shall be distributed as provided in that section.

History.--s. 1, ch. 74-377; s. 39, ch. 76-31; s. 9, ch. 86-154; s. 3, ch. 87-108; s. 4, ch. 87-186; s. 2, ch. 88-73; s. 7, ch. 90-208; s. 4, ch. 91-200; s. 4, ch. 92-194; s. 3, ch. 92-195; s. 2, ch. 94-324; s. 59, ch. 95-267; s. 49, ch. 96-350; ss. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ch. 97-235; s. 33, ch. 97-271; s. 94, ch. 98-279; ss. 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, ch. 98-280; ss. 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, ch. 98-403; s. 95, ch. 99-13; s. 254, ch. 99-248; s. 4, ch. 2000-139; s. 43, ch. 2000-152; s. 36, ch. 2000-171; ss. 11, 12, ch. 2001-122; s. 20, ch. 2001-254; s. 42, ch. 2002-1; s. 5, ch. 2002-217; s. 7, ch. 2003-2; s. 100, ch. 2003-402; s. 61, ch. 2004-265; s. 12, ch. 2005-164; s. 4, ch. 2005-194; s. 49, ch. 2005-236.

1Note.--Section 68, ch. 2005-236, provides that "[i]t is the intent of the Legislature that the amendments made by this act to ss. 28.2402(2), 34.191, and 318.21, Florida Statutes, are remedial. It is the further intent of the Legislature that fines and forfeitures or civil penalties arising from offenses or violations committed or occurring within an unincorporated area of a government created pursuant to Section 6(e), Article VIII of the State Constitution be paid or deposited for fiscal year 2004-2005 as provided in ss. 28.2402, 34.191, and 318.21, Florida Statutes, as those sections are amended by this act. This section shall take effect [June 14, 2005]."

318.30  Legislative intent.--It is the intent of the Legislature that civil traffic infraction hearing officers be appointed and used in those counties where the need arises for their services. Any Civil Traffic Infraction Hearing Officer Program established in a county under ss. 318.30-318.38 shall be subject to the supervision of the Supreme Court.

History.--s. 1, ch. 89-337; s. 19, ch. 90-330; s. 2, ch. 94-202.

318.31  Objectives.--The Supreme Court is hereby requested to adopt rules and procedures for the establishment and operation of Civil Traffic Infraction Hearing Officer Programs under ss. 318.30-318.38.

History.--s. 2, ch. 89-337; s. 3, ch. 94-202; s. 50, ch. 2005-236.

318.32  Jurisdiction; limitations.--

(1)  Hearing officers shall be empowered to accept pleas from and decide the guilt or innocence of any person, adult or juvenile, charged with any civil traffic infraction and shall be empowered to adjudicate or withhold adjudication of guilt in the same manner as a county court judge under the statutes, rules, and procedures presently existing or as subsequently amended, except that hearing officers shall not:

(a)  Have the power to hold a defendant in contempt of court, but shall be permitted to file a motion for order of contempt with the appropriate state trial court judge;

(b)  Hear a case involving a crash resulting in injury or death;

(c)  Hear a criminal traffic offense case or a case involving a civil traffic infraction issued in conjunction with a criminal traffic offense; or

(d)  Have the power to suspend a defendant's driver's license pursuant to s. 316.655(2).

(2)  This section does not prohibit a county court judge from exercising concurrent jurisdiction with a civil traffic hearing officer.

(3)  Upon the request of the defendant contained in a Notice of Appearance or a written plea, the case shall be assigned to a county court judge regularly assigned to hear traffic matters.

History.--s. 3, ch. 89-337; s. 1, ch. 91-152; s. 4, ch. 94-202; s. 255, ch. 99-248; s. 51, ch. 2005-236.

318.325  Jurisdiction and procedure for parking infractions.--Any county or municipality may adopt an ordinance that allows the county or municipality to refer cases involving the violation of a county or municipal parking ordinance to a hearing officer. Notwithstanding the provisions of ss. 318.14 and 775.08(3), any parking violation shall be deemed to be an infraction as defined in s. 318.13(3). However, the violation must be enforced and disposed of in accordance with the provisions of general law applicable to parking violations and with the charter or code of the county or municipality where the violation occurred. The clerk of the court or the designated traffic violations bureau must collect and distribute the fines, forfeitures, and court costs assessed under this section.

History.--s. 1, ch. 94-202; s. 101, ch. 2003-402; s. 62, ch. 2004-265; s. 52, ch. 2005-236.

318.33  Appeals.--Decisions of the hearing officer are appealable, under the rules of court, to the circuit court. Appeals shall be based upon the record of the hearing before the hearing officer and shall not be hearings de novo. Appellants are responsible for producing the record of the hearing beyond that which normally results from the civil traffic infraction hearing process.

History.--s. 4, ch. 89-337; s. 5, ch. 94-202.

318.34  Qualifications.--Applicants for the position of hearing officer of the civil traffic court shall be members in good standing of The Florida Bar and shall have completed a 40-hour education and training program which has been approved by the Florida Supreme Court. Thereafter, hearing officers shall complete an approved 4-hour continuing education program annually.

History.--s. 5, ch. 89-337; s. 6, ch. 94-202.

318.35  Term of office.--Hearing officers shall be independent contractors and may serve either full time or part time as determined by the chief judge. In either case, they shall serve at the pleasure of the chief judge of the county and circuit in which they are to hear cases and shall have no definite term of office.

History.--s. 6, ch. 89-337; s. 7, ch. 94-202.

318.36  Code of ethics.--Hearing officers shall be subject to The Florida Bar Code of Professional Responsibility and not the Judicial Code of Ethics, except that they shall avoid practices or occupations that would constitute a conflict of interest or give the appearance of impropriety. Whether serving full time or part time, hearing officers shall be prohibited from representing clients or practicing before any other hearing officer of a civil traffic court or from representing any client appealing the decision of any other hearing officer. A civil traffic infractions hearing officer appointed under s. 318.30 shall have judicial immunity in the same manner and to the same extent as judges.

History.--s. 7, ch. 89-337; s. 8, ch. 94-202; s. 10, ch. 99-248.

318.38  Nonseverability.--If the provisions of s. 318.32 authorizing hearing officers to impose the same sanctions as county court judges for civil traffic infractions are found to be unconstitutional by the Florida Supreme Court, then the hearing officers shall have no further jurisdiction over any civil traffic infractions.

History.--s. 9, ch. 89-337; s. 10, ch. 94-202.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Florida may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.